Making the News 2

| Homepage
The 24hr News Channel by Schools
Making The News

Alternative content

Home > Jammie Dodgers- not Vegan?

Rate this article

Share this article

Related articles

Jammie Dodgers- not Vegan?

Credits: Amritha
Watford Grammar School for Girls (See more work from this school)
First Oreos, then Jammie Dodgers- What biscuits will be left for vegans?

Burton’s Biscuit Company, who make Jammie Dodgers, have decided to make the popular biscuits non-vegan.

The company has now added milk protein to the original recipe, to add flavour to the original recipe.  However, many vegans are not impressed with this decision, and have taken to Twitter to start an online petition, which has over 3500 signatures.

Eloisa, 12, in 8B said “I had not heard about this before, but I do not mind, as it does not affect me.”

She also said that she thinks that the petition is a good idea, but “may not work, as if they [the company] have changed the recipe, it is not likely that they will change it.”

Mrs. O’Neill agrees with her, saying “The company will not want to change the recipe again.”

However, Monica in 8A says “I am vegan, and if the company changes Jammie Dodgers, it will just prove the rumour that a vegan lifestyle is extremely restricting and that you cannot eat most foods, which is not true.”

She also said that the petition was a good idea, and that the company would lose profit if they keep the new recipe.

The company are acting on customer reviews, and are also making the biscuits with less sugar and more jam. The biscuits will also be crispier.

Post your comments

Comments

No Responses to "Jammie Dodgers- not Vegan?"

Post Your CommentsPost Your Comments

Enter your name and the email address of the person you would like to share this article with

 
E2BN
MTN2 published by E2BN
and members of the National Education Network
E2BN NEN
© 2008 E2BN - East of England Broadband Network & The National Education Network